Sidelines and Sessions

2009/08/15

LOL I’ve been out of the church too long:

Filed under: Uncategorized — spsukaton @ 3:46 am

Facebook status conversation:

[Redacted]: “I’m getting invested tomorrow!”
Me: “Someone’s putting you into a bank?”

(I forgot she was in Oshkosh.)

lower down on the profile: “I’m getting invested as a Master Guide! PTL!”

FAIL.

Most of you have no idea what I’m talking about.

Pathfinders is a Scout-like organization attached to the Seventh-Day Adventist Church in which I grew up. Pathfinders is broken up into “Honors” classes, where students learn specific skills (kind of akin to Scout merit badges) and “progressive classes,” which provide religious instruction geared by age and grade in school. Progressive classes and Honors are awarded at the end of each year at “investiture” or at camporees (like Scout jamborees) like the one my friend is at in Oshkosh.

“Master Guide” is the last major progressive class – one must be 16 or older, a baptized Adventist, and close to finishing high school (or already in college – MG can take a while, see the requirements here.)

Once upon a time, becoming an MG was a big goal of mine. And yet it completely slipped my mind.

Maybe I’m just reading too much into this, but perhaps I’ve been living by the waters of Babylon too long?

On a semi-related note: Happy Sabbath, everyone!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

